From Law to Land

Welcome to my world! I am just a little bit frightened but mainly pretty excited about my life just now. Blogging is yesterdays news but, I am hopeful that I may just be able to gain a little interest from like-minded people who are just sick and tired of living their lives with not much contentment apart from materialistic things.

So, a little about me, and my family – the very real people who you are about to share cyber space with. You will see very quickly that we are not, in the slightest, new-age hippies, live in a hut off the grid and nor do we have an outside rain water shower (mental note to research this…). We are a very 21st century family indeed.

My husband and I met when we both worked for the Police Force. I always said that I would never date a copper, as I knew fine well what most of them were like – but seemingly I was caught off guard and ended up marrying one! Anyhow, two children, a few house moves and 15 years later we find ourselves settled in rural North Northumberland.

The husband is retired, I am at Uni doing a degree and life is ticking along pretty well. A while ago we decided to invest heavily in the future of our children and try to secure the best possible education and opportunities that we could for them. The realisation that this was going to take some serious money finally kicked in and I knew that we had to start making changes to how we lived our life and used our money.

I don’t want to start a debate about the strengths and limitations of education providers or methods – as parents we make the decisions about our children. This blog is charting our progress to achieving, or at least stumbling along towards our goal. We might not completely make it but at least we can have a good shot at it, learn from everything that comes our way and live with what we have and what we produce.

Where to start? Well, what do we have and what do we actually need?

Leave a comment